Had a day off today and have to say…lived the life of leisure I always wanted …but its lovely for a day…not sure if this is how I would want to spend all my days. Would want my life to count for something. Massages, manicures and pedicures are delightful luxuries specially for someone who is always on the go and never has the time for anything.

 

While I was lying on my massage table I was reviewing all the happenings of the past few months in Pakistan… and my mind kept coming back to the killing of  Ahmedis and of course the assasination of Salman Taseer.. Yes I know cricket  should be first and foremost on my mind… specially with the usual allegations of spot fixing and match fixing coming up….ho hum…. eventually they will figure it out or not … find  a witch and burn her to the stake… amazing such national anger over cricket… yet innocents being murdered in cold blood doesn’t seem to evoke that kind of response.

As I was driving home from work last night I switched on the radio to hear these two presenters of course trying to make light of our dismissal from the World Cup. A comment was made that really stuck with me. and I quote “If the country can get together to watch cricket…why can’t we get together to make a dam for example? ” cost of electricity will go down which means communal benefit… right? makes sense doesn’t it?? sigh…. why is it so difficult to make people just sit and work together for the greater good? whether its a dam, or some new project that will be beneficial … or something as banal as a volleyball club… there seem to be issues with everything…. and it all seems to boil down to a little thing called … um …ego. … disguised as intolerance… self righteous… delusions of grandeur but at the end of it all it all boils down to the ego. If only one could really boil an ego the way one would an egg… a lot of problems would be solved for sure. In the meanwhile I am going back to my hypnotic cd that is apparently going to help me get thin! will keep posted how that one works 🙂

 

 

 

